LED Ribbon Light Project

Hi,

First off, some background about me. I'm a programmer, so I know that the coding part of this will be easy. I've done a lot of household electric work, but not much circuit work.

I just purchased this LED Ribbon Light reel off of Amazon. I also bought a dimmer switch and corresponding power supply. I'm building an entertainment center right now, and would like to use these ribbon lights inside of the unit for some practical as well as ambient lighting. I would like to add a bluetooth or wifi module, so that I can control the lighting by a smartphone app that I would write.

I'm not exactly sure how to wire it up to the arduino. I found this tutorial. However, the light strip is just white LED's, and only have a + and - connection. I'm assuming that the - connection would be connected to Ground. From what I've read, dimming would be accomplished by varying the voltage to the + connection. From what I've ready, the arduino can't be directly connected to something that requires 12V connection. So somehow I need to take the voltage from the 12V power supply, and vary the voltage to the LED strip, without frying the arduino.

Any tips/suggestions would be much appreciated.

From what I've read, dimming would be accomplished by varying the voltage to the + connection.

No it is normal to apply a PWM signal to the LEDs http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Tutorial/PWM.html

Normally you would connect the + of the strip to +12V and the - of the strip to a transistor or FET. Then apply the PWM signal from one of the PWM signals to the transistor's base or FETs gate through a resistor. Connecting the emitter / source to the arduino's ground and the +12V supply's - to ground.

Mike,

OK…I think I understand it. PWM is basically applying a cycling a voltage on/off to diminish the overall amount of power to make the lights appear dimmer.