LED running off LiPo battery - full brightness for only 2 seconds

Hello,

First off, let me say that I'm very new to circuits and how all of it works.. This is probably something really easy, but I just can't think of why this is happening.. I just got a new Cree XPL LED in and soldered it onto my LiPo battery + charger that I have. I have it all soldered to the charging board via the through-holes on the side and I have a small switch between the LED and the charging board.. It was working fine last night, and today I decided to charge the battery. I unplugged it from my computer and turned the light on, and for 2 seconds it lit up the whole freakin' room.. Then the brightness drops drastically (down to probably 1/10 of what it was before)..

It's been charging for a couple hours and still the "Charging" light is lit on the board.. Either way though the battery should have more juice in it that when I plugged it in, so I can't imagine it's an issue with the battery.. Could it just be pulling to much amperage through the charger and is just being regulated down to something manageable? I can't imagine that's the case since it was working fine last night..

HELP!!!

Hi, One would indeed expect a little more juice from a 4400mAh battery.

It's hard to say what's happening, but I can think of a few things.

If the charger is USB-powered, you'll get 500mA max on a USB-bus and it may have to share that with other devices, which can result in a much... longer charging time. If it only gets 100mA, it will take at least a couple of days to charge from empty to full.

If, on the other hand, the battery is... fully charged, voltage will be quite high. Leds are quite picky, if you connect the led directly, without regulating current in some way, it can... easily ruin your led.

I unplugged it from my computer and turned the light on, and for 2 seconds it lit up the whole freakin’ room… Then the brightness drops drastically (down to probably 1/10 of what it was before).