LED/Sound to Cornhole Board

Hi folks,
I was looking to install a PIR motion sensor on the underside of my cornhole board that would sense when a bean bag enters the cornhole which would then be connected to LED RGBW strip lights and a DFplayer sound module which would also play a siren sound. So in addition I would need a speaker and a battery operated power supply. Since I am a newbie I am looking for the easiest/cost effective way to do this. Not sure which components I need: arduino, breadboard, LED, sound module, PIR sensor, power supply, etc.

Start by making a list of all of the I/O needed - every input and every output. Leave a little room for expansion/feature creep. Include also serial driven displays and communication links and such.

I'm not sure PIR is the best sensor choice. PIR stands for Passive Infrared Sensor. That means it senses movement of warm objects. That works best with warm blooded creatures like people. The bean bag is likely to be about the same temperature as the rest of the environment so it will be invisible to the PIR sensor.

I did a similar project to this last year where I needed to count items thrown through a slot in a box in rapid succession

Active modulated IR sensors work well for this sort of thing but they have a narrow active range. In my case the hole the thrown object would pass through was significantly larger than the object so I needed a wide sensor range, which would have meant around 7 of those fairly pricey sensors. I found the ultrasonic sensors had a much wider range. In the end it turned out I needed two of them and I could never get the thing to detect 100# of the time due to the object moving fast and not getting false triggers due to the sensors interfering with each other.