LED Star field TLC5940 Coding Issues (newb)

Hi Guys

I am working towards making a star-field ceiling installation, using white LEDS and TLC5940 LED Drivers

I’ve breadboarded one chip with 16 leds to get an idea of how it will all go together and work out the code. I’m getting some weird results and I’m also very new to programming, so the code is confusing me a bit.

I’ve used alternating blue and white LEDs to make it easier to see what’s going on. I’m feeding it 7.5v through the arduino’s ext power. This is how it’s wired:

I have been playing around with example sketches and have hacked together the following sketch using the tlc5940 arduino library…

#include "Tlc5940.h"
void setup()
{
 /* Call Tlc.init() to setup the tlc.
 You can optionally pass an initial PWM value 
 (0 - 4095) for all channels.*/
 Tlc.init();
}

void randomled(int m)
// displays random LEDs for m times
{
 randomSeed(analogRead(0));
 for (int qq=0; qq<m; qq++)
 {
 Tlc.clear();
 Tlc.set(random(16), 1095);
 Tlc.update();
 delay(200);
 }
}

void loop()
{
 randomled(100);
}

This works to a degree, but oddly it lights up a blue & white led together at the same time. So it’s like the code is treating every 2 leds as a pair and turning them on together. This happens at random intervals, as it should, but always shows the 2 leds next to each other each time. A video might explain better: