LED strip dims but does not go off

Im a beginner, I built my first project - to drive a LED strip on my RC submarine project.

Using Arduino nano, I do three things - learnt from other examples

1. interpret the 40MHz receiver signal to switch on and off the LED-strip (as well as pin 13 on the nano)
  2. use MOSFETs to control the colors of the 12V battery powered LED strip
  3. measure remaining battery power and change color when below a threshold.

The software seems to work - the LED goes bright and off and color changes when below voltage
BUT instead of ‘off’ the LEDs dim. I’ve seen other reports like this but did not recognize good solution. I tried varying the pulldown resistors between 1k and 100k, no effect. I use three IRLB8721.

/*RGB strip control from Futuba 40 MHz receiver

*/
#define RED_LED 6
#define BLUE_LED 5
#define GREEN_LED 8
#define Voltcheck A0 //volt controle pin

int gBright = 255;//brightness setting during test and operation
int rBright = 255;
int bBright = 255;
int delaytime = 1000;//test time individual LEDs
int ch7; //40 MHz channel to switch on/off RGB strip
int LED = 13;//assign LED on nano
float volt;//input signal from battery circuit
float voltage;//calculated voltage

void setup() {
pinMode(7, INPUT);//input channel from 40 mHz receiver
pinMode(LED,OUTPUT);
pinMode(GREEN_LED, OUTPUT);
pinMode(RED_LED, OUTPUT);
pinMode(BLUE_LED, OUTPUT); 
pinMode(Voltcheck, INPUT);

Serial.begin(9600);  

TurnOn();//run testing program once

}
void TurnOn() {
  digitalWrite(LED,LOW);//switch nano LED off

analogWrite(RED_LED, rBright);
    delay(delaytime);
    analogWrite(RED_LED, 0);

analogWrite(BLUE_LED,bBright);
    delay(delaytime);
    analogWrite(BLUE_LED,0);

analogWrite(GREEN_LED,gBright);
    delay(delaytime);
    analogWrite(GREEN_LED,0);
}
void VoltRead(){
    volt = analogRead(Voltcheck);//read voltage on pin A0
    voltage = volt * 11.0*5.0/1023;
    Serial.print("voltage: "); Serial.print(voltage);Serial.println();
}