LED Strip for Digital MIDI Piano

Hi everyone.

I’m pretty new to Arduino and a bit of a noob when it comes to coding having only ever really used MATLAB.

Anyway I’m trying to make an LED strip respond to MIDI input from my digital piano. I want each note to light up a corresponding specific LED (I’ve laid the strip behind the keys so i looks like the keys are lighting up as you play them).

I’m using a WS2812B individually addressable LED strip and the FastLED library.

#include <MIDI.h>
#include <FastLED.h>

#define numLED      144
#define pinLED      7
#define typeLED     WS2812B
#define colourOrder GRB
#define brightness  128

CRGB leds[numLED];

MIDI_CREATE_DEFAULT_INSTANCE();

void setup() {

LEDS.addLeds<typeLED, pinLED, colourOrder>(leds, numLED);
  FastLED.setBrightness(brightness);
  MIDI.begin(MIDI_CHANNEL_OMNI);
  MIDI.setHandleNoteOn(handleNoteOn);
  MIDI.setHandleNoteOff(handleNoteOff);

}

void loop() {
  MIDI.read();
 }

void handleNoteOn(byte channel, byte pitch, byte velocity) { 
for (byte i=30; i<=101; i++){
  if (i==pitch){
    int S = (-2)*i + 203; //turning the pitch value into the corresponding LED to light up
    leds[S].setRGB( 30, 140, 255);
    FastLED.show();
  }
}
}

void handleNoteOff(byte channel, byte pitch, byte velocity) { 
  if (pitch==i){
    int R = (-2)*i + 203;  //turning the pitch value into the corresponding LED to turn off
    leds[R].setRGB( 0, 0, 0);
    FastLED.show();
  }
}
}

Here is my code. Originally I had 100+ switch cases for each pitch value, but then I started using a for loop and if statement instead.

It works fine for the most part.

The problems arise when I play chords in quick succession. Often, but not always, seemingly random LEDs that aren’t being played will turn themselves on and stay lit up until I play that key (i.e turn the key on and off again).

I’ve been trying to fix this problem for a few days now and have gotten nowhere.