LED Strip, random pattern and color

So this is a two part question. I'm very new to coding and have been mostly copy pasting my functions with a very basic understanding of how they work.

Problem 1:

I would like to randomly select a pattern from a predefined list of patterns. I have been reading up on arrays but i'm not sure how to make it work for my functions.

Problem 2:

I would like each pattern to randomly select a color from a list of colors.

Essentially, I would want this to cycle through the random patterns with random predefined colors.

Here is the code without the actual pattern functions (Exceeds character limit)

#include "FastLED.h"
#define NUM_LEDS_A 37
#define NUM_LEDS 37
CRGB strip[NUM_LEDS_A];
#define PINA 6
#define BRIGHTNESS 30

void setup() {
FastLED.addLeds<NEOPIXEL, PINA>(strip, NUM_LEDS_A);
FastLED.setBrightness(BRIGHTNESS);

}

void loop() {

//list of function commands that cause a pattern

TwinkleRandom(500, 10, false);
Twinkle(255, 0, 0, 50, 50, false);
NewKITT(255, 0, 0, 2, 10, 50);
Strobe(255, 0, 0, 10, 50, 10);
FadeInOut(255, 0, 0);//red
CylonBounceLong(0, 0, 255, 4, 10, 100, 5); // blue
MeteorRain(255,255,0,2, 64, true, 10);//yellow
RunningLights(255,0,0,50); //RED
colorWipe(0,255,0, 10);
rainbowCycle(10);
theaterChase(255,0,0,50);
}

That looks very much like the FastLED demo example. It contains a list of patterns that are accessed in sequence. If you use the random() function, I'm sure you can figure out how to select one of the patterns randomly.

The same principle can be applied to the selection of the color for the given pattern.

So in the linked post from AWOL I was able to use the "switch / case" structure to randomly select the patterns.

Now I am trying to follow the advice of Grumpy_Mike from the same post on how to randomly select the colors for each pattern.

The problem I'm encountering is I have no idea how to set up an array that would work.

this is the closest I have come:

#include "FastLED.h"