LED Strip using Interrupts for colour and power

Hi,

I’ve recently started a project creating a light for my room. Currently I have a nano attached to an LED strip a capacitive button and a push button.

I have managed to code the capacitive button as an interrupt which changes the colours in a fadeColour function written. Meaning the user can cycle through different changes of colours. This is using D2 (interrupt pin 1).

I also have a two pronged push button which I have one end attached to ground and the other to D3. I am struggling to set up an interrupt using the push switch which I can use as an ON/OFF button for the rest of the circuit or even just the LEDs.

I have tried using the onOffButton Interrupt to change the next colour to fade to black (0,0,0) this works but then won’t retrigger.

What I really want is the button to instantly turn the lights on and off.

Sorry I’m pretty new to Arduino and I’m not super experienced coding hardware.

If you’re interested the fadeColour function takes any colour (int[3] array) and uses a sine wave to fade between the colours in a non-linear fashion. This creates a more interesting LED fade.

Thanks
Arthur

Here is my code:

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>

#define PIN       7
#define N_LEDS    20
int inputPin = 2;
int incrementColor = 0;
int onOffPin = 3;
int buttonCheck = 0;
int breakLoop =0;

// Colour arrays (going from blue to red)
int blue[3] = {0, 0, 255};
int red[3] = {255, 0, 0};
int purple[3] = {75, 0, 130};
int pink[3] = {255, 20, 147};
int green[3] = {0, 200, 0};
int turquoise[3] = {175, 238, 238};
int yellow[3] = {255, 255, 0};
int orange[3] = {255, 128, 0};
int black[3] = {0,0,0};

int currentColour1;
int currentColour2;
int currentColour3;

// set initial colour
int redVal = red[0];
int greenVal = red[1];
int blueVal = red[2];
int pinTouchVal = 0;

// intiialise
int prevR = redVal;
int prevG = greenVal;
int prevB = blueVal;

int DEBUG = 0;
int loopCount = 0;

int colorState = 0;