LED strip

Hi, I'm very new to this computer science field itself.

I'm doing a project that is related to the LED strip of which I'm using LED strip to display the time that is to be retrieved from mobile through mobile application.

The problem I'm facing is at assigning arrayed variables to each LEDs. I've seen several simple LEDs example but all of those are connecting only few LEDs and each are connected to different pins. Is there a way to assign each LEDs into an arrayed variable?

#define numLEDs 60

int greenPin = 9;
int redPin = 10;
int bluePin = 11;

unsigned int leds[numLEDs];

void setup()
{

}

Hi, when you say led strip, do you mean adressable led strip like ws2812 (neopixel)?

If so, you will be using a library, either FastLed or Neopixel library. These libraries allow you to set an led by its position number. Inside the library, the colour of each led is held in an array, so you probably will not need to make an array for this in your own sketch.

Adressable led strips connect to a single pin on the Arduino. Your example sketch above indicates that you expect 3 pins to be required for r, g & b. The types of led strips that need 3 pins are not adressable, which means all leds show the same colour.

Perhaps the problem is that you have not explained how your led strip will display the time. Will you use a matrix or 7-segment design? A diagram would help.

Paul

I'm sorry. It's a LED strip with 4 pins (with RGB and 1 more white wire which I'm not familiar of what it is) so I define only 3 pins on the coding. [EDIT] I changed the coding a little bit

#define bluePin 9
#define redPin 10
#define greenPin 11
#define pin 12

The white wire is the common wire. Generally with rgb strips it is a common anode which you will need to connect to 12V. The other wires will be cathodes and you will need some transistors to connect them to. Do not attempt to connect them directly to your Arduino, that would damage it.