LED w/ Switch, with additional timer options

Good morning, I am doing a project for my work where I am running into a slight stumbling block. This is my first project and may be a bit ambitious but I believe the right track is here if not near by? Here is the scenario to shed better light on the what and why and hows.

Parts Button, Arduino, three LEDs, 1 green, 1 yellow, and 1 red. Resistors as necessary.

Summary When someone pushes the button the green light turns on (this is the part I have done). The green light is on for 15 minutes. At 15 minutes and one second the green light turns off and the yellow light turns on. Add five more minutes, at 20 minutes and one second, the yellow LED turns off and the red one turns on.

I forgot to add, when the button is pushed a second time to turn off the timer and lights. Push the button again and the entire light/timer process starts again.

Purpose Inform a nurse a patient has been waiting too long without some form of communication of wait time.

Question Where and how to place a timer?

Current Code - Shamelessly looked up by google

const int buttonPin = 4; const int ledPin = 2;

int buttonPushCounter = 0; int buttonState = 0; int lastButtonState = 0;

void setup() { pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT); pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop() { buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin); if (buttonState != lastButtonState) { if (buttonState == HIGH) { buttonPushCounter++; Serial.println("on"); Serial.print("number of button pushes: "); Serial.println(buttonPushCounter); } else { Serial.println("off"); } delay(50); } lastButtonState = buttonState;

if (buttonPushCounter % 2 == 0) { digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); } else { digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); }

}

Attempts Foremost, I removed the constants for my two additional LEDs (yellow and red).