LED warning system based on different input frequencies.

Hi Guys,

Im completely new to arduino and i currently have an arduino UNO. As part of my university dissertation project i have to complete a safety circuit, the circuit will be connected to a speed sensor which will be fitted on a turbine dynomometer, it will input frequencies to my board based on the rpm of a roating shaft.
Depending on the frequency values 1 of 3 leds will light, green will indicate a safe speed, amber will indicate it is getting unsafe and red will indicate the shaft is over speeding and from this the system will cut.

However i am unsure how to program this as i have not came across any tutorials or examples which use frequency as an input and from this a set of commands are then followed.

if anyone has any advice i would appreciate it greatly.

That sounds like it is probably possible but your specification needs rather more detail.

What sensor is it? And exactly what type of signals are the "frequencies" you are expecting to get from it? What range of "frequencies" are you expecting? Is "cutting the system" part of what you expect the Arduino to do? If so what exactly does it need to do in order to "cut the system"?

Steve

The speed sensor is a microepsilon dz140, the shaft will be rotating at a max speeed of 150,000 rpm which equates to a frequency of 15kHz.

The specific details for now are not the main issue, my main issue is how to starting writing a program for a simple circuit which uses a frequency as an input to provide an output by lighting 1 of 3 leds.

is there any examples or tutorials you are aware of which would use frequency as an input?

Thanks.

Well I think the interesting part is what the exact signal from the sensor is and how you capture that and turn it into a usable frequency.