LEDs in sequence without delay()???

Hi everyone, total newb here!

I have been messing with a Leonardo the past few days trying to make a sketch of seven leds that are lit in sequence without switching off the previous led, while and as long as a button is pressed. When the button is released the leds are switched off in sequence as well.

Well everything works perfect… but I am trying to do the exact same thing without using the delay function.

I have been trying the Millis(), the simpleTimer(), the isTime() and many many others… its official I’m stuck.

The code with the delay(), I am trying to rearrange is the following:

/*
  Leds light on and off in sequence
  Lights multiple LEDs in sequence when button is pressed, then in reverse when button is released.

*/

const int buttonPin2 = 2;     // the number of the pushbutton pin

int buttonState2 = 0;         // variable for reading the pushbutton status
int timer = 100;              // The higher the number, the slower the timing.

void setup() {

//use a for loop to initialize each pin as an output:
  for (int thisPin = 7; thisPin < 14; thisPin++)  {
  pinMode(thisPin, OUTPUT);      
  }

pinMode(buttonPin2, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  buttonState2 = digitalRead(buttonPin2);

// when pushbutton is high all related leds light on, in sequence
 if (digitalRead(buttonPin2) == HIGH) {
  // loop from the lowest pin to the highest:
  for (int thisPin = 7; thisPin < 14; thisPin++) {
    // turn the pin on:
    digitalWrite(thisPin, HIGH);  
    delay(timer);                  
    // turn the pin off:
  }
 }
  // when push button is low all related leds are turned off in sequence
  else {//(digitalRead(buttonPin2) == LOW)
  // loop from the highest pin to the lowest:
  for (int thisPin = 13; thisPin > 6; thisPin--) {
    // turn the pin on:
    digitalWrite(thisPin, LOW);
    delay(timer);
    // turn the pin off:
  }
 } 
}