LEDs with 2 shift registers over PWM

Hi,

I searched for a solution for my problem but i didn't found a fitting one here over the search so if I missed an already existing one I am sorry for dublicate it.

I am really new at the Arduino programming and have the problem that i want to control 16 LEDs with two 74HC595 shift registers via PWM to have the possibility of dimming them. I take the basic build of the curcuit to the official shift out exsample (http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftOut) taht works fine. Then I changed the connection of the 3rd Pin to a PWM Pin of the Arduino to enable it for the shift registers. Basicly it also works fine but I am not able to set the brightness of 2 or more LEDs independent from the others :( and always the second register have the same state like the first one because i did not understand how the addresses have to be defined :S

My actually code is:

int latchPin = 5;
int clockPin = 6;
int dataPin = 4;
int outputEnablePin = 3;
int brightness;
byte leds = 0;

void setup()
{
pinMode(latchPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(dataPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(clockPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(outputEnablePin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
setBrightness(1 ,200);
setBrightness(2,10);
}

void setBrightness(int led, int brightness)
{
digitalWrite(latchPin, LOW);
bitSet(leds, led);
shiftOut(dataPin, clockPin, LSBFIRST, leds);
analogWrite(outputEnablePin, 255-brightness);
digitalWrite(latchPin, HIGH);
}

I thought now that the first and the second LED is on and the second one is much darker than the first (both on the first shift register) but both are bright as the first one and the also the LED 1 and 2 of the second Register are on.

I hope somebody can help me here (in a easy way ;) ) and thanks alot for taking care of this 'dummy problem' :)

Greetings