Leonardo Disconnecting/Reconnecting when uploaded to

Hey guys, I've been working for a few months with an Arduino Uno Genuino, without issue.
I'm working on a project that needed more interrupt pins, so I bought a Leonardo.

When I plug the Leonardo in, it shows up just fine, as COM6. I switched to the Leonardo and the COM Port in the Sketch window, but when I try to upload to the Leonardo, my Windows 10 machine makes the standard windows disconnect sound, followed a few seconds later by the reconnect sound, and my sketch doesn't seem to show up on the Leonardo.

I opened the device manager and watched as I uploaded a sketch. When the disconnect sound plays, the Leonardo (COM6) disconnects, and is replaced by the Leonardo Bootloader (COM5), and then goes back to COM6 when the reconnect sound plays.

However, my Uno has never done this. When I upload the same sketch to the Uno (COM3), windows plays no sounds, and the device manager doesn't budge. The Uno is COM3 the whole way through.

I'm not sure if there's something I'm doing, or not doing to cause this, or how to address it? Any help or advice is appreciated.

While Uploading:

After Upload:

The behaviour is normal. When starting an upload, the Leonardo is reset (same as the Uno but using a different approach).

That is when you see the normal Leonardo disappear and the bootloader shows up.

You state that your sketch does not seem to show up on the Leonardo. Does avrdude throw errors in the IDE's output window? If not, you have a problem in your sketch. Test with a simple blink or so. If that works, post your sketch.

Blink works. When I say nothing works, I mean that nothing shows up in the serial monitor (yes it's set to the right baud), and nothing prints on the 16x2 LCD screen, despite there being declarations in the setup block for both, which work fine in the Uno.

Is there something different I have to do to get that to work in the Leonardo?