Li-po charger/switching PS that can handle 2A current

Ok, pulling my hair out trying to find the best solution:

I need to build an Arduino that automatically switches from wall-power to battery power while at the same time allowing the GSM to draw max 2A @ 5V.

Here is what I have arrived on:

http://www.ti.com/tool/bq24032aevm#supportandcommunity

Am I correct however that the Vout pin for this is regulated to ~3.3V? If so, please direct me to a way to supply 5V (with 2A max) to the GSM module.

Also, please advise me as to whether I can configure this Eval board with an Arduino.

The main output of that chip is just what the attached single-cell lipo battery provides, which is less than 5V. If you need 5V, you'll have to get a DC/DC step-up converter as well. These modules can be found on ebay and some of them can supply 2A.

I'm a novice, but are you sure? It seems odd to drop the voltage when the whole point is "reliable" power, is it assuming you have a voltage regulator on the other end?

Either way, if I couple the TI eval board with something like this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-DC-Converter-Regulator-Step-up-Step-down-2-1-/160644749552?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item25672c58f0#ht_1990wt_905

I should be able to power the 2+ amps required when the GSM module is drawing max current? If I am reading correctly, the USB cable for the TI eval board is limited to 500mA, how does the board provide 2A of power if the power input is limited to 500mA? Do I need to use the AC wall charger to get that kind of power?

Here goes another 'beginner' question: how do I initialize all the pins on the TI chip? Do I just use a few Arduino digital pins which output the required "High" or "Low" signals to the chip?

THANKS for helping me out.

You've chosen one of the more expensive dc/dc converters. There are others for about 8$-ish that can do 5V 3A, but the general direction is correct ;-)