Libraries I'm working on: timer, shifters, etc ...

I'm working on several libraries to help my project up. I'm sure I'm doing some silly things, but still, could be useful to others. ;-)

http://arduino.wusik.com

The one I loved most is MyTimer, which helped me out a lot producing a great MIDI PPQ Clock. (960 PPQ) 8-) The MyTimer Examples folder has an example of the MIDI PPQ Clock. :D

I'm still learning, so, please, let me know how to improve those libs and also any mistakes I have done. Just be nice. :)

Best Regards, WilliamK

Libraries I added to the link so far:

Encoder Encoder2 (lite) MyTimer (8 bits timer) C165 (16 Inputs with only 3 pins) C595 (16 Outputs with only 3 pins)

Hi William,

Just looking at the C595 code, it seems a very inefficient way to shift 16 bits out, loading an array then looping through the array. Is there any particular reason for not just shifting the bits in an int?

Also I think you could drop these

digitalWrite(latchPin, LOW);
      [glow]digitalWrite(dataPin, LOW);[/glow]
      digitalWrite(clockPin, LOW);
      for (int i=15; i>=0; i--)  
      {
        if (Output[i]) digitalWrite(dataPin, HIGH); else digitalWrite(dataPin, LOW);
        digitalWrite(clockPin, HIGH);
        [glow]digitalWrite(dataPin, LOW);[/glow]
      }

Rob

He also could use the shiftOut() function, which does the same thing, just better and more efficient, but that would mean reusing working code instead of reinventing it in a worse manner. Sometimes one just need to let the kids play.

Korman

Hummm, I did use the shiftOut function and hated it. You have to keep in mind that I come from Windows C++ and Assembly programming, not MC programming. So I tend to like things in a certain way.

Now, Korman, to be honest, just bear with me and drop the attitude, you may be surprised with what life brings you. ;-)

In any event, this makes the code look easier to understand, while using shiftOut gives me headaches. :-[