Libraries referencing other libraries?

Hello all,

I'm very new to the Arduino scene, but very old to the programming scene. And I'm having serious difficulty with getting libraries to use other libraries. I wanted to write a simple serial LCD library to wrap the various commands and what not involved with communicating with my serial backpack enabled lcd. First off, I had to invert the SoftwareSerial library, as I needed TTL ( inverted ) serial to communicate with my display. This library works like a champ when used directly from my sketches.

Then I decided to write another library that could wrap up the details of lcd communication. This library should use the inverted serial library I wrote, but the arduino ide gets seriously upset when you try to do that. I had to play games with the includes, the class members, etc. Long story short, it doesn't work.

After messing with this for a few hours, I started to wonder if it wasn't something in the ide, so I grabbed the SSerial2Mobile library referenced on the arduino website. This library uses SoftwareSerial to send sms messages through your cell phone. Well, if you install this library, open a new sketch, click to "import" this library to put in all the includes, then compile it, you get massive errors.

I've read lots of posts from people saying they're happily using this library, so I'm wondering what the deal is. Am I doing something wrong? Are other people experiencing this same issue? I've tested this with Arduino 0017 on mac and windows with the same problems. Can someone confirm/deny? I really appreciate any help.

Thanks

Another example: webduino. I downloaded webduino 1.4, dropped the webduino folder in Arduino/libraries, restarted Arduino 0017, started a new sketch, included WebServer.h, put in dummy setup and loop functions, and when I click verify, here's what I get:

/Users/nisburgh/Documents/Arduino/libraries/webduino/WebServer.h:96: error: expected class-name before '{' token