Light-activated self playing piano?

Would a self-playing piano be possible? I guess what I'm asking is, can you rig a piano so that when light hits the keys, they are triggered to play? (Think: those easy-learning pianos where the keys light up for you, only self-playing). Is there any sort of sensor that could trigger a down-ward pressure on the keys when light reaches them? Sorry for my lack of tech know-how. I'm just trying to get a sense of what might be possible for future reference. If this is not doable, what might be a feasible, lower-key arduino project involving piano? I'm not expecting specifics, just broad strokes and a general direction. I am a noob and realize that this would not be something I can tackle at this moment in time. I'm just very interested in the musical uses for Arduino.

Thanks!

FreddieMercury: Would a self-playing piano be possible?

Yes. If you are willing to spend months of your time, and at least a couple of hundreds of dollars (on electronics alone).

FreddieMercury: can you rig a piano so that when light hits the keys, they are triggered to play? (Think: those easy-learning pianos where the keys light up for you, only self-playing). Is there any sort of sensor that could trigger a down-ward pressure on the keys when light reaches them?

Not without destroying the keys or ruining the looks of the whole piano. The easiest light sensor is an LDR (Light Dependent Resistor), but it would be a real pain to build that into your piano keys.

FreddieMercury: If this is not doable, what might be a feasible, lower-key arduino project involving piano?

There's a lot of great MIDI projects you can do. I've always liked these MIDI piano lights.

I recently built an Arduino MIDI controller (full tutorial can be found here), that I use to edit my music on the computer, or to control my Roland digital piano. It can control the DSP effects, synthesizer settings, sounds ...