Light seqence programing

for my next project i am looking at creating a multi light display/show. it will consist of 18 (more later) different light sets that play through different sequences. my problem is i dont know how to write a sketch that will allow me to do this. since i am very new to arduino, i only know how to do the digitalwrite then delay type of thing but that would take forever even on short patterns with 18+ outputs. i would use the mega so would have no issues with the number of outputs avalible. im just looking for a quicker way to create the program that will let me do this. is there any programing shortcuts or ways to have it run through a list of numbers that corispond to the bianary value of the ouput or even better a piece of software that would allow you creat the sequences in a visual way?

oh and one more thing, this is going to need to be a standalone unit, it will need to be able to run it all on its own

Thanks!

One way would be to check the time every second (or whatever) and have the outputs change based on the bits in 4 bytes (32 bits).

Something like this:

for (x = 0; x<100; x=x+4){  // for 25 light sequence
PORTA = array[x];
PORTB = array[x+1];
PORTC = array[x+2];
PORTC = array[x+3};
}

Some other stuff is needed, like setting the ports to outputs, etc., but nothing too complicated.

i do like the idea of having it check the time on a specific interval and your ways does not sound hard at all. but i basicly dont understand any of that code. (im clueless about most code)

care you explain it for a newb?

PORTA is a whole set of I/O pins.

BTW, all those things can be searched right from the forum. Search box is upper-right.

oh i think i understand the PORTA thing now. its a way to write (or read) a set of 8 outputs with a single binary number right?