Light switch

Hi all,

I'm trying to create a light switch that is compatible with a regular wall lamp. What I have in mind is something that senses a gesture and turns the lamp on and off accordingly. Since I want it to be gesture based I bought an Arduino Pro Mini as well as a Sparkfun RGB and gesture sensor. The links for both things are here: gesture sensor, Arduino Pro Mini.

I've never used an Arduino before but I do have some programming experience and I'm very eager to learn. I don't mind reading through manuals but some guidance on where I could get started would really, really help me out. Particularly, I'd like to know how I can wire the Arduino to some sort of switch that can handle the voltage (is that the right word to use here?) of a wall outlet. Any help would really be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Yaltes:
how I can wire the Arduino to some sort of switch that can handle the voltage (is that the right word to use here?) of a wall outlet.

And in all of google land nobody had ever written anything up on that? I find that very hard to believe since it is one of the most common of Arduino projects.

I'd like to know how I can wire the Arduino to some sort of switch that can handle the voltage (is that the right word to use here?) of a wall outlet.

That would be a [u]relay[/u]. A relay is an electrically-operated, electrically-isolated switch. For your safety and the safety of the Arduino, it's important that there is no direct electrical connection between the Arduino and the power line.

But... Most relays can't be directly 'driven' by the Arduino's 5V, low-current, output. Assuming you don't want to build your own driver, you can get a 'relay board' that has one or more relays and associated driver.

Or, an easier option is a solid state relay. There are lots of solid state relays that can be directly driven by the Arduino. [u]This "industrial" style[/u] solid state relay is easy to wire-up (with screw terminals).