light up bouncy ball (standalone knock sensor)

Hi,

For my project, I want to make a knock sensor in a ball that emits a different color every time it is activated (similar to the light up bounce balls or shoes). It is basically the 'Arduino knock sensor' project except I want it to be standalone inside a ball. What is the best way to make it so that the whole concoction can fit within a baseball-sized ball? I am new to electronics so please guide me to what chip can be used to store the initial programming and then moved. Would also want to use a small coin type battery for led.

PS. i know piezo is not how the traditional bouncy balls work (they use a cheaper spring contact circuit, if someone knows how I can program that to only make one led color rather than a rainbow then that would be great as well)

An Arduino Pro Mini will fit the size and power consumption that you want. A Flora or Gemma will also fit and might be easier as a starter board.

You only want one RGB LED? Or maybe two regular LEDs with different colours? Whatever you pick, it will be easy to change later. For maximum control, a Flora Neopixel might be fun.

So you already have the piezo sensor you want to use and you’ve tested it?

Thanks for your response!

Is there no other option than to have the pretty advanced chips you mentioned? My project doesn't require that much capability so I was hoping for something smaller, but maybe this is the only option. Also, it needs to be resistant to impact so don't want something heavy and expensive breaking every time!

Yes, I already have a piezo that came with the arduino starter kit!

Oh you could do it with just a bare attiny85 and some hella soldering skills but you haven't given us any clue as to whether or not you're up to that so folks are recommending boards that are already put together.

How good are you with a soldering iron? Do you feel up to doing a "dead-bug" on a tiny85?