Lighting for Architectural Model that simulates light usage in building

Hello - I am fairly new to arduino and programming as a whole, but I am a quick learner.

I am designing a site model for a school project and I would like to light my site. Basically something like this http://redthread.utah.edu/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/site-model.jpg but where the buildings are perforated with windows. I will be placing what I believe will be a series of LEDs on the interior of the building to simulate interior light usage of a residential building throughout a 24 hour timeline. Now my questions are:

1. have you seen something done like this before? if not ---->
  2. can I have atleast four different light blinks and fades on one arduino at once? i'm assuming yes.
  3. how do i do that? (do I just combine the codes and specify a different pin to different blinks and send to a string of LEDs?)
  4. I realize I will have to add additional power to light more LEDs, maybe you can direct me to a good video on how to do that...

Any help would be greatly appreciated... The first steps of this project are due in the next couple weeks so I have time to fiddle around my but I was hoping I could get a jumpstart with some help.

Thank you in advance.
I have an arduino uno btw.

What kind of LED's will you be using? Standard (20mA) or high-power?

Do you want to fade all of your LED's or just blink?

The Uno has 6 pins capable of PWM that can fade your LED's on or off. You can drive up to 15 standard LED's max from the arduino itself without straining the onboard power regulator. If you're using the pin to supply the current, don't connect more than one LED per pin.

What you want to do is really simple. I'd suggest loading the "Blink", "Fade", and "Fading" example sketches in the Arduino IDE and you should should be able to figure it out...

You probably want WS2811 or WS2812 type parts so you can make a long string of them with individual controls.
Check them out here.