Lighting Lots of 1.2v Bulbs...or Bright LEDs

Hi All,

My Arduino UNO is on its way!

I am planning to build an advent calendar for my first project - I want it to automatically light the correct day.

I'm a software developer, so the code wont be a problem (Once aquainted with the syntax etc). What I'm not sure about is how to control the 25 bulbs required? i.e. There are 13 pins...how on earth would I wire this?

Looking for guidance rather than a solution. I want to ideally use 1.2v bulbs...or bright LEDs as they need to light a box for each day, which will be approx 10cm x 10cm

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Hi, you probably need a shift register, as explained here:

http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftOut

There are 20 pins, but still not enough, 0-13 and the analog inputs A0-A5 can function the same as the digital pins as well.

Several choices here:

1. Use shift registers to provide more outputs. 74HC595 shift registers have 8 outputs and can be cascaded, so four would be needed.

2. Use a multiplexing chip like the MAX7219 or MAX7221.

3. Multiplex the lamps directly with the Arduino.

(1) Will be the simplest code, but lots of wires, (3) Will be the least complicated electrically, but the code will be more difficult, (2) is somewhere in between.

FWIW, if it were me, my preference would be LEDs over 1.2V incandescent bulbs. Current drawn from Arduino pins should be limited to 20mA.

If you use LEDs, you may try Charlieplexing http://www.arduino.cc/playground/code/charlieplex With 6 Pins you can control 30 LEDs.

Since this is over a month and no high-speed is required...

• Maybe a manual switch on the 15th?? or
  • A minimum-charlie-like-plex where there are two groups of 15 LEDs driven HIGH and each of the two groups can be separately driven LOW. If you're sure you'll only ever light one LED, you'd only need 1 resistor per group...