Lighting Project

I am a college student at SUNY Fredonia and I am looking for guidance on a project I'm doing. The assignment is to create a prop that lights up. This simply is not enough. I have come up with the idea of putting on a light show in class. My idea involves gloves that light up at the fingertips and blink on and off corresponding to beats in music. I would like to use Arduino to make this happen, but being a college student, this can get very expensive very fast. Is this possible on a tight budget? What are some other ways I can approach this idea? So far, at this stage of the process, I know how to wire the glove via battery. The problem I'm having is will I be able to program this wirelessly and on both gloves? I am posting on this forum to get any feedback I can; positive feedback, constructive criticism, potential aid, etc. Thank you very much for reading my idea.

Hi Anthony and welcome to the forum.

Getting your lights to flash with music is not easy if you want to do this by picking up the sound and analysing it to determine the beat. That would be too advanced for a beginner I think. But there are easier ways that might be good enough. The simplest would be to attach a potentiometer to the Arduino and use that to adjust the speed of the flashing to match the beat. Or you could add a switch that you tap a few times in time to the beat. The Arduino could measure the average time between taps and then continue to flash the lights based on that speed.