Lights for drums - Beginner need some advice

Hey guys !

I'm Ghislain, nice to meet you. I'm a student and just discovered Arduino so I'm a beginner :slight_smile:

During concerts, me and my band are performing a drum solo with a lot of percussions, and we'd like to put some lights inside (1 per percussion, at first :P), that turns on when hitting the ... top ? skin ? sorry for my english. The thing that we hit on drums.

So yeah, I don't know which lights to choose, according to their power, their constraints, the captors, and the Arduino version I have to use.

Can you guys help me and give me some idea please ? :slight_smile:
Thanks a lot

A stroboscope would be cool. It is designed to produce bright flashes. If you want them in different colours, you can put some coloured gels for photography.

Unless the strobe has a built-in mic to pick out sounds, this won't work for what the OP wants to do. There are different ways of approaching this. Either use an electet microphone to pick up the drum sounds, or a vibration sensor, or even a piezo speaker can be used to pick up sounds and have an Arduino read the analog signal and control a string of LEDs. Google is your friend.

KirAsh4:
Unless the strobe has a built-in mic to pick out sounds, this won't work for what the OP wants to do. There are different ways of approaching this. Either use an electet microphone to pick up the drum sounds, or a vibration sensor, or even a piezo speaker can be used to pick up sounds and have an Arduino read the analog signal and control a string of LEDs. Google is your friend.

Most electronic drum sets consist of a rubber plate (the "skin" of the drum) with a piezo transducer attached to the back. You may well be able to affix a piezo transducer direct to the back of the skin of the drum (if it is open bottomed) and use that to control an array of LEDs.

The question was not how to sense the beating on the drum nor how to trigger the light, it was which lights to use.

Shpaget: