Lilypad Remote Bluetooth LED Control Project

Hi guys! This is my first post here, and I have never worked with Arduino before, but I have been researching it online for the last few days. My background is in programming, and I’ve never constructed a circuit before (where I knew what I was doing), so I’m an absolute beginner here.

I’m planning on making a gift for my girlfriend who attends college on the other side of the US right now, and my general goal is to use a Lilypad board, a bluetooth module, a tri-color LED module, and a temperature sensor to make a plush toy that, when held by the user, begins to glow and (via bluetooth) tells a server to tell its twin plush toy to start glowing as well. When both users are holding the toy, the LED would glow a different color.

So my breakdown right now is to first make the Lilypad device (I’ve attached a schematic I made in Fritzing – please tell me if I’m doing anything wrong here, since I hardly have any idea what these wires all do. I’ve just based this off what I’ve found online). Then I’ll write a simple bluetooth driver for the computer that can receive events from the device and send signals to light up or not. This driver will communicate with a simple server script I’ll have to write that will make sure both bluetooth drivers (her laptop and mine) are on the same page. The drivers will ask the server if anything has changed in maybe 10 second intervals.