Limit switch state change detection

Good afternoon all - I am relatively new to arduino code.

I am currently in the process of making an automated hockey net with 4 x 12V LED illuminated targets. I am using limit switches to detect whether a target has been hit - if the target is hit it will de-energize and the next LED target will activate and wait for a shot to strike it's limit switch.

I am having difficulties with the limit switch code, I had originally tried to force the LED target low once the limit switch went from a high to low signal which proved to be ineffective. I have since attempted to use state change detection with no success. I am using a 4-channel relay to do the 12V switching required and the limit switches are wired in a normally open configuration.

I am looking for any advice on to how to write the code for these limit switches to make the LED targets go from on to off when the target is hit and illuminate the next LED target. The program seems very simple yet I am lost as to where to go from here.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

int LEDTarget1 = 2; // LED Strip Relay Pin
int LEDTarget2 = 3; // LED Strip Relay Pin
int LEDTarget3 = 4; // LED Strip Relay Pin
int LEDTarget4 = 5; // LED Strip Relay Pin
int limitSwitch1 = 10; // Target Limit Switch 1
int limitSwitch2 = 11; // Target Limit Switch 2
int limitSwitch3 = 12; // Target Limit Switch 3
int limitSwitch4 = 13; // Target Limit Switch 4
void setup() {
    pinMode(LEDTarget1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(LEDTarget2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(LEDTarget3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(LEDTarget4, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(limitSwitch1, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(limitSwitch1, LOW);
  pinMode(limitSwitch2, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(limitSwitch2, HIGH);
  pinMode(limitSwitch3, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(limitSwitch3, HIGH);
  pinMode(limitSwitch4, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(limitSwitch4, HIGH);

}

void loop() {

digitalWrite(LEDTarget1, HIGH);

if (digitalRead(limitSwitch1 = HIGH) )
    { digitalWrite(limitSwitch1, LOW);