Limit switches and prioritization of certain inputs

Hi!

I’m new to arduino and would like some help with my current project.

Me and some friends are building a solartracker that will optically track the sun and right now i think i have taken on a bit more than i can chew.

I do not know how to do the following thing. We have installed a couple of buttons that is intended to work as limit switches. Is there away to program the Arduino to always “watch” and prioritize their input over everything else? Even if the tracking data tells the motor to keep spinning i want the limit switch to override this. With my current code the motor keeps spinning even when the limit switches are hit.

This code does not involve the tracking but the concept should be valid anyways?

#include <Stepper.h>

int SPMU = 32;
int rightbutton = 10;
int leftbutton = 11;
int rightval = 0;
int leftval = 0;
Stepper myStepper(SPMU, 2,3,4,5);

void setup()

{

myStepper.setSpeed(500);
pinMode(rightbutton, INPUT);
pinMode(leftbutton, INPUT);
Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {

rightval = digitalRead(rightbutton);
leftval = digitalRead(leftbutton);

if (rightval == HIGH) { //if the button is depressed the motor should reverse it's direction.
   myStepper.step(20480);
  }
else if (leftval == HIGH) {
  myStepper.step(-20480); //if the button is depressed the motor should reverse it's direction.
  }

else 
{
  myStepper.step(20480); //If none of the buttons are pushed proceed as usual.
}}

From the documentation

Stepper: step(steps)

Description