Linear actuator control with position sensing for turbo boost controller

Hi Im completely new to arduino and programming in general but hope to glean some useful knowledge from this forum. Id like to inquire to see if my idea is actually possible. I was thinking of a using a linear actuator to control turbo boost on my car, could I build a program that opens up a flap on the turbo to control boost by gear and such using arduino and a small linear actuator on the flap itself?

I was thinking of using a longer arm and mount the actuator itself away from heat. Also I would like to be able to do boost control by gear, would I be able to do this using arduino? If so, wheres the best place for me to start, and are there any helpful books or threads that I could focus on?

Please excuse my lack of knowledge, Im going to be scouring the internet and local library for more info on arduino but Id love to get some help from the community.

Thanks!

The actuator design will need to be determined from the forces and travel required, and the response speed (if that matters). There are other electrically operated exhaust baffles available so these might give you some idea of the sort of thing you’d be looking for.

If you want to be able to control boost according to the gear, you need a way to determine the current gear. Does your 'box already have a selected gear sensor output? They aren’t common. If you don’t have one, you might consider whether it would work to limit boost according to road speed (on the basis that you won’t be using the lower, presumably more fragile, gears once you have exceeded their red line, and if you’re under boost you will probably be in roughly the right gear for the road speed. Measuring road speed is quite a bit easier because most cars have wheel speed or transmission speed sensors and if not they’re usually not hard to add.