Linear actuator locking up Arduinio

Let me start by thanking everyone who contributes to this forum. The wealth of knowledge here is overwhelming!

My project is a boat autopilot using compass navigation. This is my first attempt at circuitry, and writing code.

Overview. Compass (LSM303D) gets read by the Arduino. Depending on the parameters that the user has inputted, a linear actuator moves to a determined point via a 12v relay (LC-200). I’m using a good car battery to power the Arduino, relay and actuator. Because I want to place the compass away from metal and the boat motor, I’m using cat5 cabling to help reduce any EMI. I’m also using cat5 cabling to keep the relay board and the actuator away from the Arduino. The relay, and the actuator are powered by a separate 5v connections. (see attached simple illustration of my circuit)

Problem: The program gets launched, user data gets gathered, and the actuator moves to the determined position. As I rotate the compass clockwise and counter clockwise to simulate boat movement (about 10 deg one way, then 10 deg the other at about 1 sec intervals) the relay clicks, the appropriate LED’s on the relay board light up, and the actuator moves correctly. . . . . but it will freeze up the Arduino after a few seconds or up to 1 min. It’s completely intermittent. When this happens, sometimes my LCD display will freeze and change color, sometimes only partial display is shown, or sometime just blanks out. Either way, everything appears the be locked up. A quick reset, re enter the info and way we go again. . . . .but ony for a few seconds.