linear acutuator and door

I would like to control a chicken house door with a linear actuator (16") from the internet. I am new to arduino but have some electronic experience. can someone please point me in right direction for the boards i need to get started. i just need to control the door up and down to fixed positions. From what i understand the actuators use reverse polarity to move it up and down so i think it just need 2 relays? i have wired Ethernet to the controller so i dont need wifi. I would like to keep this as cheap as possible. Having the system on a timer also would be great but not necessary. any help would be great.

thx

Have you wired up a switch to the actuator so you can switch it manually?

An Arduino will need a relay shield (2 relays required) or a H-bridge motor control shield. It's most probable that your actuator is a DC motor, so you don't need a servo controller, ESC or stepper controller. (The other main types of motor control, for different motors.)

"H-bridge" is important because that's what makes it reversible and you need to be able to drive in both directions.

2 relays. one changes direction of the motor, the other turn power on and off. one has to be a DPDT relay so you can swap wires to reverse direction.

I would like to control a chicken house door with a linear actuator (16") from the internet.

A lot about chicken coop doors. A linear actuator might not be the most appropriate door actuator.

https://www.google.com/search?as_q=coop&as_epq=&as_oq=&as_eq=&as_nlo=&as_nhi=&lr=&cr=&as_qdr=all&as_sitesearch=http%3A%2F%2Fforum.arduino.cc%2Findex&as_occt=any&safe=images&tbs=&as_filetype=&as_rights=&gws_rd=ssl

dave-in-nj: 2 relays. one changes direction of the motor, the other turn power on and off. one has to be a DPDT relay so you can swap wires to reverse direction.