Linear motion sensing/controlling

Let me preface this post by stating that I am totally new to arduino, programming, and microcontrollers. I do, however, have a bit of previous knowledge of basic electronic components. Having said that...

I just picked up my first Arduino board last week and have been having lots of fun learning so far. I have an application for the Arduino that I think Id like to undertake but am unsure of how to interface various components together to achieve my desired result.

I need to trigger a relay contact when an object moving linearly moves faster than a specified threshold speed. So Ive envisioned the following system:

A DC motor with a wheel attached which contacts the moving object. When in motion the motor produces a small voltage. This analog signal is converted using the onboard ADC. When a specific speed is reached I can have a digital output work through a transistor to control a relay. The relay portion of the circuit is figured out already thanks to the many guides and schematics available online. Its the motor and ADC part I dont know quite how to connect or program.

Any help? I realize many may recommend using some type of accelerometer but for this application it cant be used due to the fact that all the electronics need to be mounted on the stationary side of the object.

One final question with regard to SSRs. I know that there are plenty of ssrs that can be controlled with 5VDC. That is simply to drive the relay correct? I can switch any load I want as long as its within the load rating of the SSR? Also, what is needed(if anything at all) to isolate the arduino from the SSR to avoid any sort of damage to the board? For the record I need to switch 12VDC @ approximately 10 amps.

Anything you gurus can offer me will surely be of help to a new guy like me. Thank you in advance!

t_hum