Linker Problem

GDay

I am having problems with ld (using IDE 1.6.12) collect2. says error 5 and that is all info I can get. not very helpful.

Interesting point: My sketch was built properly all the time. then I updated some boards as suggested by the IDE and then this error came up. no changes in the sketch itself at all.

I looked around in the temp build directory but could not find any linker output file. Is there a way to tell the linker to write such file or the build process not to delet this file ? I guess there must have been a file once that collect2 was able to scan through.

any idea appreciated. tia

We really need more info. Go to File → Preferences and click on the Compile and Upload check boxes so you get more info on the error. The cut-and-paste that info here.

thanx econjack,

build output attached.

build_output.txt (15.9 KB)

additionally info:

I’ve been working with C and embedded C for about 3 decades. Just new to the Arduino world :wink:
So I think if I could inspect the intermediate & output files, they’d help me a lot.

meanwhile I fooled around a bit with the project.
commenting stuff in and commenting out, the usual.

got one function in the sketch called

void output_time(void)
{
bla bla
}

it is the very first code fragment within the source file

if I remove the call to this function from the sketch, the project binds properly.
no matter, if the function has a prototype or not …

isn’t that weird ?
and, especially if you keep in mind that the entire sketch built well prior to the board update.

thanks again for illumination ;))

GOT IT:

it's a call to sprintf. that call compiled (and bound) well with old board files

again: the main question for me as user with enough experience: how can I inspect the compiler and linker files to get more info than just "ERROR"

a larger project than this might have made me go crazy.

analox: it's a call to sprintf.

Nope.

https://www.google.com/search?q=collect2.+says+error+5