Linking single channel encoder to a TIMER1/COUNTER

Hello Guys, I am a newbie. so don’t get angry if my question looks stupid.

what i was trying to do: I wanted to read number of ticks/ pulses generated on a incremental optical encoder using a timer1/counter which is configured as counter.

my connections and my code: The circuit is simple, I have a arduino UNO and an optical encoder

1. connected VCC to 5v of UNO
  2. connected GND to GND of UNO
  3. connected pulse generating pin of PD5 of arduino UNO (pin 11 from pin-mapping)

my code:

unsigned long total_count;
volatile unsigned long overflow_count;
unsigned long timer1_current_value;

void total_counter_setup()
{
  total_count = 0;
  overflow_count = 0;

// Initial reset
  TCCR1A = 0;
  TCCR1B = 0;

// Interrupt when overflow
  TIMSK1 = bit (TOIE1);

// Initially set value to zero and connect encoder channel to PD5 (pin 11 on arduino UNO)
  TCNT1 = 0;
  TCCR1B =  bit (CS10) | bit (CS11) | bit (CS12);
}

ISR (TIMER1_OVF_vect)
{
  ++overflow_count;
}

void setup ()
{
  total_counter_setup();
  Serial.begin(57600);
}

void loop ()
{

timer1_current_value = TCNT1;
  Serial.println(TCNT1);
  if ((TIFR1 & bit (TOV1)) && timer1_current_value < 256)
  {
    overflow_count++;
  }
  total_count = (overflow_count << 16) + timer1_current_value;
//  Serial.println(total_count);
}

result:
I checked both total_count and TCNT1 in the serial monitor and i always read the reading is zero.

other test:
I checked the same encoder using interrupts INT0 and I found continous reading at lower speed but skipping values at higher rates.
My motivation to use counter is because from my understanding counter continuously counts the pulses in the background, so that my board will not be disturbed everytime a interrupt is generated and i only have to read the counter value when required.

This is my understanding and correct me if i am wrong.

Thanks in advance and any kind of help is highly appreciated.