Linux and Arduino

I have been using Ubuntu 12.04 for some time now and I started to get interested in the arduino open source concept ,but all the information out there discussed the problems of installing Arduino on Linux. But I decided to bite the bullet and get a starter kit with an "official" Arduino uno board, I downloaded the Arduino and Processing software, extracted the .tgz files to my home folder and everything works fine even running a basic sketch to test serial communication.
As I only know some of the basic Linux terminal commands all the information out there nearly put me off buying a starter kit.
Could someone please explain what the potential problems are as everything worked fine for me.

I have been using Arduino with Linux (Kubuntu) for several years. I can't really remember having any major problems. The typical problems people seem to have are with access rights (group memberships) for things like the virtual serial ports (/dev/ttyUSB? and /dev/ttyACM?). I would think that you should do just fine. You're already off to a painless start after all.

Thank you for your response.

until recently, a linux install of Arduino relied on a SEPARATE install of whatever avr-gcc your particular distribution of linux happened to think was appropriate. Which was sometimes not compatible with what all the other Arduino installs were running, wrong, buggy, and not even a working combination of the various tools involved (gcc, binutils, libc.)
More recent versions of Arduino for linux have included their own copy of the "standard" version of the compile tools.

thanks to westfw for your response, I think your reply should be broadcast because it's the only concise description of the problems
you can encounter installing arduino & processing i have seen.

With Linux never download from Arduino server.
Always download from Ubuntu depositery.
The Ubuntu version is the Debian version which use updated software.