Linux Centos IDE with YUN port

Running Linux Centos 6 IDE. I just bought a YUN. This is my first time and I know nothing just works with Linux.

When I try to select the port the only choice is /dev/ttys0. I need to log in wirelessly. But that choice isn't there. I can access the board using a browser so I know it's working. I can even SSH in. But can't upload.

What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

mperkel:
I know nothing just works with Linux

Not True - most things work with less fuss than Windows.

Are you trying to upload an Arduino sketch or a program for the Linux side of the Yun?

...R

mperkel:
When I try to select the port the only choice is /dev/ttys0. I need to log in wirelessly. But that choice isn't there. I can access the board using a browser so I know it's working. I can even SSH in. But can't upload.

The Yun sends out a broadcast to identify itself, and that needs to be seen by the IDE before the Yun's network port will show up in the IDE.

In my experience, that means that the Yun and the computer need to be on the same physical network segment, as the broadcasts likely won't travel through a router or make the hop between a wireless and wired network. Also, if you have any firewall rules on your computer that blocks the Yun's broadcast, that can also cause problems.

Finally, it seems to me that the IDE must be up and running before you start the Yun. If you start up the IDE well after the Yun has booted up, the Yun's network port will often not show up in the IDE. (Perhaps the required broadcast is only sent during booting?)

I've had a lot of variability with my networked Yuns showing up in the IDE (I'm running Windoze.) I've had the best (but not perfect) luck using wired Ethernet for both the computer and Yun, and starting the IDE first then booting the Yun.