LiquidCrystal and Wire collision?

Hi!

I have sucsessfully interfaced an LCD(using LiquidCrystal) and a DS18b20 onewire (using onewire.h from the playground). Everything works nicely, but when i try to interface a couple of I2C EEPROM memorys using the "wire.h" the LCD simply fails to initialize, slowly fading away showing weird figures.

Is there any known collision that can occur between these librarys? everythink works great on its own, but not together, none of the pins are used by both.

Anyone got any idea?

//Alexander

Hi!

I have looked some more at the problem, and found that it is when i add the line "Wire.begin();" that the LCD wont work... wounder why...

//Alexander

I just started playing with the Arduino, and I’m having a similar problem. I am trying to use the wire library to interface the HMC6352 compass module and the LiquidCrystal library to display results. I am also communicating over serial.

These three things (wire, LiquidCrystal and serial) sometimes give me random hangups and weirdness. The hangups always seem to occur at the wire.begin() line, but they only occur if all three components are used.
Sometimes, adding a simple line (like serial.println(“a”) somewhere in the sketch will suddenly cause everything to work.

The simplest sketch I can come up with that hangs is below. If I include the serial.println line, the sketch will run. If I comment it out, it doesn’t run. Anybody know what’s going on here?

#include <Wire.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);

int ledPin = 13; // LED connected to digital pin 13

void setup()
{
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
Serial.begin(9600);
//Serial.println(“a”); // uncommenting this line will cause sketch to run properly
Wire.begin();

}

void loop()
{
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); // check for quick blinky
delay(100); // to see if sketch runs
digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
delay(100);
}