Live updating of LCD display

So I’m very new to arduino and programming and basically have just been piecing together parts of code to get where I am so far. So please be patient in my ignorance. So far I have everything working but I’m trying to refine it a little further, which is where I’m getting stuck.

What I’m trying to accomplish is to use an UNO and two potentiometers to independently control the ON and OFF time of a pulsing DC motor. I would like to use an LCD to display to show what the ON and OFF times are. Right now I have all that working. What I would like to refine more is the updating of the values on the LCD. Right now the LCD only updates the values after the code ends and the start of the loop begins again. So if I’m making an adjustment I have no idea what I’m adjusting the value to, unless I press reset immediately after or until the code loop ends and restarts or pressing (which can be awhile as I plan to adjust the code to allow for up to 5 mins of ON or OFF time). What I would like is for the LCD to update “live” as I adjust the potentiometers.

You’ll also see some switches on the LCD to turn off the screen and the backlight (I know, not the best solution as I have to press reset to bring back the LCD after cutting power to the VCC terminal). Is there a way to eliminate the switches and have the LCD “wake up” after one of the potentiometers changes value? Then turn back off after 5 seconds? Just trying to save power to maximize battery life.

Please feel free to point out my mistake in the circuit or programming, like I said I’m new to Arduino and my only programming experience is with GCode which is unrelated.

Thanks for the help, my code is below, attached is a diagram and schematic

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2); // set LCD driver pins
int lcdbl = 10;  // lcdbl=LCD Backlight: hooking up the lcdbacklight to pin 10
int sensorPin = 0; // The potentiometer is connected to analog pin 0