LM35 Temperature Sensor

Hi,

I'm really new to Arduino's, and recently got my Uno R3. Anyways I went ahead and eventually got the LCD and potentiometer working. However I decided to add an LM35 temperature sensor, the thing is that all my pins for 5V and GND have already been used up, so I connected to one of the existing 5V connections from the potentiometer and arduino(I put it one pin above the 5v.) I fired up the code but it displayed 0.00 as the temperature. Here is a picture of the setup, I haven't put in the GND wire from the sensor. Can someone please explain to me how I will be able to share a GND and 5v connection? I'm connected via USB so I don't think power distribution should be an issue.

My 16x2 LCD also has a backlight feature.

Thank You

Okay, so I put the Ground on the - rail on the breadboard and I put the 5v on the + rail on the breadboard so I can distribute and share the connections. I’m still getting 0.00 for temperature. I added a LM35 library.

Heres the code.

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
#include <LM35.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);
LM35 sensor1(A0);//PIN A0
double temp = sensor1.read();

void setup() {
 // set up the LCD's number of columns and rows: 
 lcd.begin(16, 2);
 // Print a message to the LCD.
 lcd.print("Temperature:");
}

void loop() {
 lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
 lcd.print(temp);//prints temp
}

Disregard that. I fixed the code.

#include <LM35.h>

void setup() {
 lcd.begin(16, 2);
}

void loop() {
 lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
}

Try to read the analog value in A0 with analog.read(A0) and print it into LCD or serial port

Hmm.

When I use this code:(with analogRead)

#include <LM35.h>

void setup() {
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
}

void loop() {
  double temp = analogRead(A0);
  lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
  lcd.print("C");
}

I always get 33.00C which is definitely wrong.

And when I use this code:

#include <LM35.h>

void setup() {
 lcd.begin(16, 2);
}

void loop() {
 lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
}