load EEPROMAnything library

I am looking for a way to store variables in the event the Arduino is rebooted. I got the built in EEPROM working but it only stores values from 0-255 and I need to be able to store larger values. I found the EEPROMAnything library here

http://arduino.cc/playground/Code/EEPROMWriteAnything.

However this is my first time trying to load a new library and it is giving me trouble. I followed the instructions and saved this code as EEPROMAnything.h and put it in a new folder I created called EEPROMAnything under the libraries section.

#include <EEPROM.h>
#include <Arduino.h>  // for type definitions

template <class T> int EEPROM_writeAnything(int ee, const T& value)
{
    const byte* p = (const byte*)(const void*)&value;
    unsigned int i;
    for (i = 0; i < sizeof(value); i++)
          EEPROM.write(ee++, *p++);
    return i;
}

template <class T> int EEPROM_readAnything(int ee, T& value)
{
    byte* p = (byte*)(void*)&value;
    unsigned int i;
    for (i = 0; i < sizeof(value); i++)
          *p++ = EEPROM.read(ee++);
    return i;
}

After that I reboot the IDE and try to compile the sample code from the playground which does not compile. Here is the sample code I am using.

#include <EEPROM.h>
#include "EEPROMAnything.h"

struct config_t
{
    long alarm;
    int mode;
} configuration;

void setup()
{
    EEPROM_readAnything(0, configuration);
    // ...
}
void loop()
{
    // let the user adjust their alarm settings
    // let the user adjust their mode settings
    // ...

// if they push the "Save" button, save their configuration
    if (digitalRead(13) == HIGH)
        EEPROM_writeAnything(0, configuration);
}

What confuses me is that the libraries I see have a .h and a .c file and this only has a .h file so I think I am missing something. Or maybe I am putting the .h file in the wrong place? If anyone has suggestions on what I am doing wrong I would appreciate it.