Location/Status Indicator board (LED, buttons, LCD)

I'm a beginner in programming so please forgive me if I sound stupid.

I've thought of a project where I need to know the status and exact location of multiple items. An item has 3 status and 21 possible locations. The location and item name would be read from an LCD. I want to know what's the status of all the items by using LEDs as indicators. Initially, I planned that when I press a button the location and the item's name would appear on the LCD and there would be 3 LED on each buttons to indicate it's status. Each button would have different locations and items in it. Then when I press a new button, an OK/Confirm button the status would react differently depending on what status is the item.

The 3 status are:
Green(Normal)
Yellow(Reserved)
Red(Special)

When the OK button is pressed:
Green -> LED turn off
Yellow -> Green
Red -> Nothing happens

The item's name, location and the initial status would be updated through VB.net but that's for another topic I guess. I would be happy if I could just do all of this in arduino. If you guys have any idea on how to make the project possible or improve the design of it, please help. Thanks.

Until the VB.net part, it seemed totally possible and I saw no serious roadblocks (except the minor issue of the array of 21 buttons which requires an Arduino with enough inputs).

It's actually 22 buttons, 1 for an "OK" button. Sorry if I didn't make it clear. My friend (We're both beginners) told me it is possible and he showed me a video where a VB.net program controls his LED but since we're both beginners I'd trust you instead. I'll go about the design again and see if I can do without VB.

Can you show me how to use 21 buttons with 3 LED each on 1 arduino? I don't know where to start. Thanks.

So that's 22 buttons AND 66 LEDs?! That's a lot. You're going to need some port extenders for that. Other than that it's quite straightforward.