Logic level shifting with an ESP32

Attached is a screenshot of a wiring scheme that I have set up for testing. assume that the top power rail is 5v and the bottom is 3.3v

If I power on the esp32 with the wiring just the way it shows here, it wont actually start up.

if i removed the LLC and do 3.3v to VCC and remove the jumper for the JD-VCC and put 5v to that pin, it works (going directly from esp32 pin to IN1) only if i have 1 relay on. I am using the relays to switch 120v.

I have been working on circuits for about 6 months. so not an expert here. can someone tell me why this doesnt work?

Can't tell for sure as the image is poor resolution but it looks like you are trying to Level shift the power to the ESP32. They do not work that way. Provide a separate power bus to the ESP32 and level shift the data lines only

Supply a schematic of what you are trying to do

here is a higher resolution image

Im sorry, I dont know how to provide a schematic that can show my ESP32 like that one. What I can do is give you a higher resolution one but it is on my other computer. I can get to it a little later

The ESP32 is powered with a 5V 5A power supply that runs across the top rails of the breadboard. and the bottom rails are powered by the ESP32's 3.3v regulator

You don't really need a level shifter board. A simple resistor divider circuit (1K / 2K) would have worked. See http://www.martyncurrey.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Arduino-to-ESP8266.jpg for what I mean.

Also, you only need a level shifting for the RX pin on the ESP32. TX from the ESP32 will be just fine.

Connect the top rail's Ground to the bottom rail's Ground.

I cannot tell what the other pins are you have connected on the ESP32.

I appreciate the response. There is no "Rx" from the relay board. on the esp32 those pins are just HIGH or LOW. here is another way of describing what is in the image.

5V+ -> VIN (ESP32) -> HV -> VCC (Relay board) 5V- -> GND(ESP32) -> GND (HV) - GND(Relay board)