Long Distance Transcievers

Hello all!

I've been working on a new project lately that involves sending data from the rear of a train all the way to the front. Obviously there's a lot of metal and other materials between the two points, and some trains have been said to be up to 3.5 miles long. This poses a problem as there's a lot of interference for standard wireless transmission and it's just too far to transmit data by wire. Satellite/SIM communication isn't a great idea since there is virtually no carrier that covers all of the USA and I don't want to constantly pay for data. I'm not sending very much data, just a live readout of a few variables (can't say) to the front from the back.

So far I've been thinking this (click) is my best bet with a 6 mile range LOS. I have no experience with radio communication and I don't know what LOS means or if it will be enough to get to the front of the train, but it seems to be one of the highest ranges for the price. Problem is, I have no idea how to transmit or recieve with this using an Arduino. Plus it draws more amps than the Arduino can output.

I've got virtually no price limit here, but it needs to be small, the XBee linked above is probably the biggest I want, something a little bigger is O.K. I also need this to be able to be interfaced by a standalone Atmega328P-PU. Lower power consumption is better but I can work with anything that's not too absurd. Again, the biggest thing here is being able to travel through a lot of material up to 3 miles long. It also needs to be a transceiver that can talk to and recieve data from the same model.

I know that may be a lot to ask but it seems like something of the nature probably exists. Any pointers, tips, suggestions, refferals, etc. are much appreciated.

Thanks and best regards,

Chris

I don't know what LOS means

LOS = Line of sight.

I have no idea how to transmit or recieve with this using an Arduino.