long hold mode

Hi Im new in programming and also with Arduino. So i gave myself a first challenge to make a a button mode - long hold. I wrote that code but dont know what is wrong with it because it allll seeeemmmss soooo perfect to me :D

the point is, if you hold down the button for 2s or more the light will go HIGH, and if it is allready HIGH it will go LOW... this is the first step, later on i will try to make some doubleclick feature...

int ledpin = 2;
int buttonpin = 5;
int buttonstate = 0;
int exstate = 0;
int ledstate = 0;
int time = 0;
int time2 = 0;
int timedown = 2000;

void setup () {
pinMode(ledpin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(buttonpin, INPUT);
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop () {

buttonstate = digitalRead(buttonpin);
if(buttonstate == HIGH && exstate == LOW) {           //remember the time the button was pressed
time = millis();
}

if(buttonstate == HIGH && exstate == HIGH) {           //counts how long the button is down
time2 = millis();
}

if((time2 - time) > timedown) {                               //if the button is pressed for more than 2s the change in ledstate will happens
  if(ledstate == 0){
  ledstate = 1;
  }
  else{
  ledstate = 0;
  }
}

if(ledstate == 0) {
digitalWrite(ledpin, LOW);
}

if(ledstate == 1) {
digitalWrite(ledpin, HIGH);
}

exstate = buttonstate;
}

You haven't described what the program is doing that it shouldn't, or not doing that it should, so, you'll need to do that or figure it out for yourself.

If you want to figure it out for yourself (highly recommended), add Serial.print and Serial.println statements throughout the code.

Determine if the buttonstate variable changes when you press and release the button. This will tell you whether the button is wired correctly. It might not be. You provided no clues to help us determine this.