Long range Magnetic Stripe reader

Hello everybody, I would like to construct using an arduino micro-controller a long range magnetic stripe reader. The device would be able to read a magnetic stripe card at a range of 1-2m.
I'm a kind of newbie in this.
I will really appreciate your help guys.

Thanks

You won't be able to do this. The magnetic stripe has to be moved across a reading head, in the same way that a tape recorder operates.

This is not technically possible with existing technology.

That's what motivated the development of RFID and contactless payment.

And thank god it isn't possible or somebody could walk up behind me with such a device and read my credit card from inside my pocket.

catidegla:
Hello everybody, I would like to construct using an arduino micro-controller a long range magnetic stripe reader. The device would be able to read a magnetic stripe card at a range of 1-2m.

You also have to get one of those to get the PIN code ;D

Can OP please let us know the context of the use.

Weedpharma

I don't think the context matters, it can't be done.

Thank you all .

This device will help me to open my garage from my car by just being around with the appropriate card .
So if it cannot be done with a magnetic stuff
What do you advise guys ? Smart card reader ?

Zealot:
You also have to get one of those to get the PIN code ;D

What do you mean ?

That picture was a joke about reading the PIN of a card.

A smart card has not got the range, this sounds like a project for an RF remote control.

catidegla:
What do you mean ?

If what you want to do could be done, then scammers would have done it long ago. They would then only need your PIN number and the best way is via video camera.

Weedpharma

How about using Bluetooth? Upon connection after a predetermined time period, it opens the door.

If you want it to work just by being near then you need to look at long range RFID tags like those used for French motorway tolls.