Looking for a stylish way to read out a Keypad (Button-Matrix)

Hallo, Everyone.

I did a few steps forward with Arduino and family in the past. Now I want to go futher on and look for Beauty inside the code.

English isn’t my first language (maybe also not even the second) and I am not a programmer. So be indulgent with a - maybe - stupid problem:

I have a Keypad with 60+ Keys here. Every Key should send a different line to a RS485-Bus.
RS485 is running, everything (including hardware) is fine.

I made a similar project about one year ago with also about 70 buttons which arranged in two matrixes. Button-presses I read out with a switch-case monster, releases of those buttons also.

In this new project I want to prevent this monster of cases cause it’s a crime to debug this :slight_smile:

Here the short relevant detail of my code (the rest isn’t a secret, I just want to set a focus):

#include <Keypad.h>

const byte rows = 8; //eight rows
const byte cols = 9; //nine columns = 72 buttons ara available
char CDU[rows][cols] = { // upper-/lower-case DOES matter!!!
  {'1','2','3','4','5','6','7','8','9'},
  {'0','a','b','c','d','e','f','g','h'},
  {'i','j','k','l','m','n','o','p','q'},
  {'r','s','t','u','v','w','x','y','z'},
  {'A','B','C','D','E','F','G','H','I'},
  {'J','K','L','M','N','O','P','Q','R'},
  {'S','T','U','V','W','X','Y','Z','/'},
  {'%','&','(',')','=','?','ä','ö','ü'},
};
byte rowPins[rows] = {A6, A5, A4, A3, A2, A1, A0, 13}; //connect to the row pinouts of the keypad
byte colPins[cols] = {12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4}; //connect to the column pinouts of the keypad
Keypad keypad = Keypad( makeKeymap(keys), rowPins, colPins, rows, cols );

void keypadEvent(KeypadEvent OSB){	
	switch (CDU.getState()) {	// gives PRESSED, HOLD or RELEASED
	case PRESSED:	
	  switch(keys) { // following commands are fired unique if PRESSED
	    case '1': sendDcsBiosMessage("CDU_0", "1"); break; // CDU 0
	    case '2': sendDcsBiosMessage("CDU_1", "1"); break; // CDU 1