Looking for advice for which library I might be able to use

I am looking for a library I can use on the MKR series (samd cortex m0) that enables me to output a varying frequency pulse through a digital output. I want to be able to change the frequency of the pulse to emulate a simple encoder. I imagine the range 0-100Hz would be fine.

I've tried the standard tone.h libraries and similar but they won't compile for the board unsurprisingly.

I'm using ros2arduino and I'm receiving the desired frequency in a message from a connected computer. I am also publishing ros messages back at a frequency of 10hz so I need to make sure that I'm not delaying the main loop inappropriately.

Can anyone suggest a way I can do this?

Thanks in advance for any help given, if more information is needed I can add it. It might be a bit waffly but I'm relatively new to all this so apologies if that's the case.

Rob

Hi Rob,

Unfortunately, I don’t have a library, but here’s some code that sets the PWM frequency from 1 to 100Hz on pin D7 of the MKR WiFi 1010:

// Output 1 to 100Hz PWM on digital pin D7 using the MKR WiFi 1010
void setup()
{
  // Use GCLK0 at 48MHz as a clock source for  TCC0 and TCC1
  GCLK->CLKCTRL.reg = GCLK_CLKCTRL_CLKEN |         // Enable GCLK0 as a clock source
                      GCLK_CLKCTRL_GEN_GCLK0 |     // Select GCLK0 at 48MHz
                      GCLK_CLKCTRL_ID_TCC0_TCC1;   // Route GCLK0 to TCC0 and TCC1
  while (GCLK->STATUS.bit.SYNCBUSY);               // Wait for synchronization

// Enable the port multiplexer for pins D7
  PORT->Group[g_APinDescription[7].ulPort].PINCFG[g_APinDescription[7].ulPin].bit.PMUXEN = 1;

// D7 is on ODD port pin PA21 and TCC1/WO[7] = channel 3 is on peripheral F
  // Note that TCC0 timer channels 0 to 3 are repeated on 4 to 7, therefore output WO[7] is on channel 3
  PORT->Group[g_APinDescription[7].ulPort].PMUX[g_APinDescription[7].ulPin >> 1].reg |= PORT_PMUX_PMUXO_F;