Looking for assistance improving my bionic arm controller

I am working on developing an open-source bionic arm. I have been familiar with programming in other languages as a hobby over the years, but I am still relatively new to Arduino. As such, I can get a fairly solid IF/THEN routine figured out, and the math for handling variables to do what I want, but my shortcoming is in knowing the best way to achieve that in Arduino. My current program works somewhat, but it still has a few strange behaviors, and I'm sure I have written it in a clunky way clinging to what few statements I know how to program with, when there may be much cleaner ways to do so.

This is my first draft of it, but it mostly functions, but not tuned in yet. This is intended for use on an Arduino Mega 2560, using two myoelectric muscle sensor boards (one on the hand "closing" and another on the "opening" muscle groups). The goal is to get as much functionality as possible out of it, yet keeping the interface easy to use. I am sorry this program isn't all commented up yet, so I will try to describe the functionality in this write-up here.

Currently, my friend has a professional-made prosthesis which uses myoelectric sensors picking up his closing and opening muscles, but to switch between grip control and wrist rotation motor control, he has to tense both muscle groups at once for a few seconds, which isn't easy and takes time, and no indicator light shows the mode switch status so he has to try and then run it for a moment to see whether the hand or the wrist responds.