Looking for early guidance on controlling a theater projector

Hello,

I just joined this forum, I have not ever used an Arduino before, I have been looking for an excuse to do a project with one, and I think I finally found one. I do have a background in electronics (2 years Electrical Engineering 30 years ago) and I work in IT. I am not a programmer, but I have done some devops, and in the past programmed in BASIC, Turbo Pascal, Fortran, shell programming (batch scripts), and a few others.

I plan to do this project together with my 11 y.o. son as well, so he can experience it too. He has Lego Mindstorms and has done some things in Scratch.

I know I have allot of tutorials to get through and I look forward to it. The purpose of this post is to get some general guidance that might hopefully help shorten the time from start of initial research to working prototype. Basically if people can point me in the general direction of a kit or modules they think will get me where I want to go, that would be great.

The project
I have a pair of home theater DLP projectors that are used together (called “stacking”) where they both point at the same screen for more brightness. To do this requires extremely precise alignment, and these projectors have only manual controls. Right now it takes two people and allot of time to do this, one person to stand a few inches from the screen, and another to adjust the projector.

So, my idea is to use an Arduino to control a bunch of stepper motors so that this fine tuning could be done by one person easily and quickly.

Here is what I want to control:

• Focus: there is a ring with teeth on it around the lens
  • Vertical lens shift: move lens (whole image) up and down, there is a ring with teeth on bottom of projector
  • Zoom: a lever on top of the lens
  • Yaw: shift the tail of the projector left/right with the fulcrum at the lens

Notes:

• Focus and zoom would be for each projector (I could get away with just focus if necessary)