Looking for Feedback on PWM to Digital IO Converter

Hi folks,

First post here, I am also pretty new to the Ardunio and electronics in general so please forgive me if I sound like an idiot.

For the past couple days I have been looking for a way to convert a PWM signal from a R/C receiver (Spektrum AR6210-X) to a signal that can be read by a digital pin on the Arduino. Before everyone flips out and points me to the zillion posts related to that, that let me explain in a little more detail: The Spektrim DX6i transmitter has a few channels that are hooked up to various switches (e.g. GEAR / FLAPS), the remaining channels are connected to the various gimbals depending on how the transmitter is configured.

I’ve current got my Arduino reading the signals for the gimbal controlled channels using the technique described on the http://rcarduino.blogspot.com rcarduino blog, so that’s working great. However I wasn’t really sure what to do about reading the “switched” channels for GEAR/FLAPS. One approach would be read the pulses in and determine the value based on that. But it seemed like a waste of interrupt pin, and I would rather not slow down the Ardunino using pulseIn. I also thought it would be cool to build a circuit to “convert” the PWM to a simple HIGH/LOW signal that can be read by a digital pin simply to learn some stuff.

So continuing on, after hooking the receiver up to the scope I was able to determine that the receiver us sending out ~22KHz PWM signal with a duty cycle ranging from 5-10%. In other words, when the GEAR switch on the transmitter in the “off position”, the receiver sends out a pulse of about 1100us on the gear channel. When the GEAR switch is in the “on posistion” it receiver sends out a pulse of about 1900us. The goal would so set a digital pin HIGH when the pulse is 1900us and low when its 1100us. I guess the small duty cycle range is because these receivers are designed to drive servos.